Democracy, David Foster Wallace, and Me

Awesome post by Mark Purcell on his blog writing about democracy, his take and inspirations, and the power of people. I couldn’t agree more. I feel that this is what is missing in our academies and institutions. I’m excited to see Purcell’s paper or transcript from the AAG session this year. Link here to abstract: http://meridian.aag.org/callforpapers/program/AbstractDetail.cfm?AbstractID=50108

Path to the Possible

Below is the (modified) text of the paper I just gave at the Political Geography Pre-Conference before the annual meeting of the Association of American Geographers.  It is drawn from my recent book (out any day now (sigh, Wiley is dropping the ball)).  It  is the first time I have talked publicly about Wallace in my work.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Democracy and the Literary Machine, or, David Foster Wallace and Me

Introduction

In the last couple of years I have been writing about democracy. What I was doing, in retrospect, was trying to engage with a range of different writers-and-thinkers and to draw out the democratic flows in their work, and then to stream those flows together into my “own,” augmented, democratic flow.

I thought that the writers I should be engaging with, the writers that were appropriate to such a project, were political theorists: people like Lefebvre, Deleuze & Guattari, Hardt…

View original post 1,931 more words

About anthony

Urban.Studies.Energy.Politics.Ecology.

2 comments

  1. Pingback: David Foster Wallace On Perfectionism, Ambition, and the Urge to Write | Critical Margins

  2. Pingback: David Foster Wallace on Ambition | ASpoonfulofSuga

Leave a Reply

